## **NED Officers and Directors**

#### **Officers**

Vin Weber Chairman

Thomas R. Donahue Vice Chairman

Matthew F. McHugh Secretary

Julie Finley Treasurer

Carl Gershman President

#### **Board of Directors**

Morton Abramowitz Senior Fellow, The Century Foundation

Evan Bayh U.S. Senate

Frank Carlucci Chairman Emeritus, The Carlyle Group

Wesley K. Clark U.S. Army (Retired) The Stephens Group, Inc.

Christopher Cox U.S. House of Representatives

Esther Dyson Chairman, Edventure Holdings

Jean Bethke Elshtain Professor of Social and Political Ethics, University of Chicago

William H. Frist U.S. Senate

Francis Fukuyama School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University

Suzanne R. Garment Weil, Gotshal & Manges Ralph J. Gerson President and CEO, Guardian International Corp.

Bob Graham U.S. Senate

Lee H. Hamilton Director. The Woodrow Wilson Center

Richard C. Holbrooke Vice Chairman, Perseus, LLC

Emmanuel A. Kampouris President and CEO (Retired), American Standard, Inc.

Jon Kyl U.S. Senate

Leon Lynch Vice President, United Steelworkers of America

Michael Novak Director of Social and Political Studies, American Enterprise Institute

Dante B. Fascell (1917-1998) John Richardson William E. Brock Winston Lord John Brademas Chairmen Emeriti

## **NED Staff**

# Office of the President

Carl Gershman

President

Zarmina Nashir
Executive Secretary

David Lowe

Vice President, Government and External Relations

Jane Riley Jacobsen Manager, Public Affairs

Jodi Herman Congressional Liaison

Jennifer Fiore
Publications Coordinator

Tiffany Lynch
Assistant to the President's Office

Art Kaufman
Project Manager,
World Movement for Democracy

Ryota Jonen
Assistant Project Manager,
World Movement for Democracy

Rachel Boyle
Project Assistant,
World Movement for Democracy

Anna Pkhrikian-Kyrou
Project Assistant,
World Movement for Democracy

Renee Rosser
Receptionist/Secretary

## **Program Section**

Barbara Haig
Vice President Programs,
Planning, and Evaluation

Karen Ann Widess Senior Program Coordinator

Jennifer Stevens

Assistant to the Vice President

Programs, Planning, and Evaluation

Christine M. Sadowski
Program Monitoring and Evaluation

Darryll Joyner Program Assistant

Thomas Akowuah

Program Secretary

Mark Valadao Program Staff Assistant

Dave Peterson

Director, Africa

Learned Dees Senior Program Officer, Africa

Alexious Butler
Assistant Program Officer, Africa

Louisa Coan Greve Senior Program Officer, Asia

Brian Joseph Program Officer, Asia

John Knaus Program Officer, Asia

Melissa Birchard Assistant Program Officer, Asia

Nadia Diuk Director, Central Europe and Eurasia

Paul McCarthy
Senior Program Officer,
Southeastern Europe

Rodger Potocki Senior Program Officer, Central Europe and East-to-East Programs

John Squier Program Officer, Russia and Ukraine

Miriam Lanskoy Program Officer, Central Asia and the Caucasus

Monica Florescu Program Assistant, Southeastern Europe J. Rebekah Jumper
Program Assistant, Eurasia

Christoper Sabitini Senior Program Officer, Latin America and the Caribbean

Sandra Zacarias
Program Officer,
Latin America and the Caribbean

Taryn Barkman
Assistant Program Officer,
Latin America and the Caribbean

Laith Kubba Senior Program Officer, Middle East and North Africa

Laura Abrahams Schulz Program Officer, Middle East and North Africa

Abdulwahab Alkebsi Program Officer, Middle East and North Africa

Daniel Cork Assistant Program Officer, Middle East and North Africa

Filiz Esen Program Assistant, Middle East and North Africa

### **Finance Section**

Joseph Cooper, Jr.
Vice President, Finance and
Administration

Kae Guthrie Manager, Human Resources and Administration

Chris French
Senior Network Engineer

John Maestros Network Engineer

Pat Owens Finance Secretary

Robert Key
Office Services Assistant

Sabina E. Silkworth

Manager, Accounting

Pat Dempsey Staff Accountant Keith Burton

Manager, Internal Audit

Chibuzo Ogbonna

Senior Internal Auditor

Silvia Vest

Internal Auditor

Gordana Azaiez

Audit Associate

Tresa A. Moulton

Director, Grants Management

Nicolette Madanat

Senior Grants Administrator

Nancy Herzog

Senior Grants Administrator

Peter Tietjen

Grants Administrator

Frank Conatser

Grants Administrator

Megan Gregor

Grants Administrator

Kristi Haycock

Grants Administrator

Mauna Dosso

Grants Administrator

Hadianto Heneveld

Grants Assistant

Rina Patel

Grants Assistant

### International Forum for Democratic Studies

Marc F Plattner

Vice President, Research and Studies Co-Director, International Forum Co-Editor, Journal of Democracy

Larry Diamond

Co-Director, International Forum Co-Editor, Journal of Democracy

Thomas W. Skladony

Senior Program Officer, International Forum

Maria Angelica Fleetwood

Financial and Administrative Officer,

International Forum

Aycan Akdeniz

Program Assistant, International Forum

Kimberly Anderson

Receptionist/Secretary

Philip Costopoulos

Executive Editor,

Journal of Democracy

Stephanie E. Lewis

Managing Editor,

Journal of Democracy

John Gould

Associate Editor,

Journal of Democracy

Anja Havedal Assistant Editor, Journal of Democracy

Sally Blair

Program Manager, Fellowship Programs

Zerxes Spencer

Associate Editor,

Journal of Democracy

Program Officer,

Fellowship Programs

Satoko Okamoto

Program Assistant, Fellowship Programs

Guy Allen Overland Head Librarian

Kristina Lively Electronic Resources Librarian

Tim Myers

Library Assistant

Alieh Rafi Batouli

Library Assistant

## The National Endowment for Democracy thanks the following for their generous support in 2002:

AFL-CIO

Morton Abramowitz

American Federation of Teachers

Harry Barnes

John Brademas

**Bradley Foundation** 

Frank Carlucci

**Thomas Donahue** 

Julie Finley

Ford Motor Foundation

German Marshall Fund

Goals for Americans Foundation

Nancy Greenspan

**Guardian Industries** 

**Hewlett Foundation** 

**Hurford Fiduciary Trust** 

**Hurford Foundation** 

Fred Iklé

Kenneth Juster

**Emmanuel Kampouris** 

Irena Kirkland

Kissinger McLarty Associates

Tom Korologos

Matthew McHugh

**Mott Foundation** 

Mark Palmer

Smith Richardson Foundation

Taipei Economic and Cultural

Representative Office

Ullico Management Company

**US Japan Foundation** 

Whitehead Foundation